Feisty Bloggin’ Housewife

October 15, 2008

Sucked In

It’s true.  I’ve been sucked in to the political vortex of this Presidential election.  I am not going to blog about the candidates or their issues, because….well….why?  In this modern age of instant-electronic-everything, people have such enormous access to information that it seems ridiculous for me to start hurling opinions into cyberspace.  So that being said, I want to talk about the “undecided voter.”  If you are undecided, you are ridiculous.

I am a poll junkie.  I have at least 4 different bookmarks geared specifically toward the daily political polls, not to mention the constant visits to CNN, Slate, Real Clear Politics, Larry King, Anderson Cooper 360, Fox, you name it, I’m checking it.  I do about 3-5 hours a day of political research and news intake.  I am also volunteering for one of the candidates, but I’m not going to mention WHO, because it doesn’t matter.

Back to the ridiculous undecided voters.  Hellooooo.  My God, the candidates are so different, as frost from fire.  The issues are so important, have you not done your research?  Have you not fact checked all the bastards?  My hubby works for the Fed’s, near the tippy top of one of the hottest button issue agencies in all the land.  I hear shit then see it in the New York Times 3 days later….I even e-mailed the reporter who broke a story last week, a story that I already knew about and had been hopping mad over.  When my hubby tells me questionable things that are going on behind the scenes I get ALL pissy in his air space and jump up and down like a blond Yosemite Sam.  I’ve even encouraged him to ambush responsible parties in parking garages and “set them straight, mister!”  I told Mr. Reporter that I’d sniff around for some more info.  Me, the house frau mole.  How sorta sexy, eh?  Better than laundry, for cryin’ out loud.  Anyway, these undecided voters have really got my surgical stockings in a knit.  Personally, I think they ‘like’ being undecided.  I believe they enjoy stringing everybody around by the nose, waiting with baited breath for them to “Pick already, PICK!!”  And from watching the numbers, it appears this undecided population has not varied by more than 2 percentage points for the entire Presidential run.  So the SAME numb-nuts are still not committing to a candidate, and driving the predictors crazy.  I think they like it.  These are probably the same wishy-washy fools who are overwhelmed by the 6 page menu at Bob Evan’s.   When confronted with overwhelming menu choices, for me it’s a simple run thru of a few questions:  Breakfast or Food food?  Hot or cold?  Healthy or evil?  Once you bust those down, it’s a breeze.  These undecided Americans need to READ.  FACT CHECK.  CARE!!!  I care so much about this election that for the first time in my life I’m actively campaigning for a candidate, and I hate that shit.  Calling people, eeewwww, asking them to also volunteer.  Going to events, hand writing post cards to women in swing states who are “UNDECIDED”, encouraging them to vote for my guy and WHY they should.  I went to one of those parties and we wrote a thousand cards.  The next President owes me a hand massage…cramp city.

So, I’ve been sucked in.  My husband cannot even wear a political button to work, as it is illegal for him to do so.  He’s not even really supposed to have a yard sign.  But it’s MY house too, so we do.

My rant for the day is “Decide Already!”  Your time is running out.

If you’ve already been “The Decider”, Kudos to you baby!  Just make sure you get to the polls on Nov. 4th and encourage others to do so as well.

Must run and prep debate food for tonight….  🙂

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.